Mississippi

20 09 2012

I still like spelling this state’s name out loud. It has a musical rhythm.

It was a quick detour around Memphis to get to my 3rd new state of the trip. I only had a chance to get one cache, but that’s all it takes, and this turned out to be a remarkable experience. The cache was at the entrance of a cemetery full of Civil War heroes and their contemporaries.

DeSoto Trail #6 – Southaven

The headstones, though very old, were mostly in very good repair.

Many were still decorated by their descendants.

So many of them were obelisks like this one, and each side has a fair amount of information on it about the deceased, like this one…

… and this one –

The caretaker greeted me as I found the cache. He loved the idea that geocachers were coming to find it and learn more about the history there. He showed me all around the place and regaled me with detail after detail of several of the current residents.

It’s not every day that someone excitedly shows you his future spot in history. I hope he lives to tell these stories for a long, long time before finally settling in!

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 09 2012
Tom

Another excellent report, Elin! When I first started geocaching over 9 years ago I was very reluctant to enter a cemetery to find a geocache. But it soon became a fun learning experience all with appropriate respect shown of course. I’ve even taken a ‘muggle’ who thoroughly enjoyed her visit. And how unusual to find a future resident to show you around! I bet there weren’t any ‘damn Yankees’ there though! 😉

20 09 2012
professorbenson

Did you notice the Freemason symbolism on the gravestone?

21 09 2012
Elin Carlson

I didn’t notice! I don’t know much about those – what do you observe?

21 09 2012
thebitchycacher

we love a good graveyard cache, your pictures were excellent, thanks for sharing

23 09 2012
adairmd

It’s awesome that you got a tour. I love old cemeteries like that.

24 09 2012
Jim Carleton

I have long enjoyed wandering around cemeteries, especially old ones in out-of-the-way areas. I like to think that the “residents” appreciate someone coming along to visit. Silly, I know. If we ever make it to Mississippi, we’ll have to check out this cache. Thanks, Elin!

Leave a Reply

