Ahamanson Stroll

31 05 2012

It’s starting to get a little too warm for long hikes now, unless I get myself out of bed really early. Feeling lazy this week, I opted for a short mid-morning stroll to pick up a couple of caches that are in between two main trails, and tend to get skipped for that reason.
BESIDE THE TWO BIG TANKS
QUAIL RUN

I headed for the Victory Boulevard entrance to the Ahmanson Ranch area, and parked near my first cache, conveniently located at the gate.
These Boots Were Made For Walkin'

It’s a popular place for hikers, joggers, and dog walkers.

I headed north toward Coyote Peak. The trail heads down hill past these two giant water tanks:

… and into the next valley, El Escorpion Park.

These sticky monkey flowers decorate the hillside in golden profusion.

The now dry weeds are studded with violet.

Of course, I stopped to listen to the music all around me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

