The Call of the Trail

21 04 2011

My escape to nature for the week was a hike part-way up Mission Peak, the centerpiece of the mountains that edge the north side of the San Fernando Valley. The trail I chose starts at the end of Neon Way.

Welcome to the Dr. Mario A. DeCampos Trail
Dr. DeCampos Trail #2

I was greeted at the trail head by a variety of bird calls, cool weather, and inviting greenery.

Right after finding the first cache, I stopped to gaze into this antique horse watering hole:

I was mostly surrounded by daisies along the way as I chugged up the hill:

Where Am I Standing #2 – the most challenging of the day
Fallen Tree – the only DNF of the day

I encountered a handful of people enjoying the trail, but mostly the company I kept was just birds (the one you hear loudly is the blurry thing on the top of the branch – my little camera couldn’t get it in focus):

As a kind of dessert cache, I found one on a nearby street on my way home. Considering the title, it was surprisingly easy:
Ivy Hide, Santee Style

Actions

Information

One response

22 04 2011
oldweeb

That horse watering hole usually has goldfish lurking in the algae.

Leave a Reply

