Viewridge Trail

31 03 2011

I love how the San Fernando Valley is ringed with mountains. I’m encircled by a multitude of opportunities to get in to nature without driving more than 20 minutes. This week I chose to head to the south west corner, where I found a short string of caches along the Viewridge Trail in Topanga Canyon. I’d hiked all along this trail before, for another series of caches that have since disappeared. It was great to have an excuse to enjoy a quick 1.5 mile round trip escape here.

Viewridge Floo
Santa Maria View
Santa Maria Crossing
Viewridge

Viewridge Trail

These stairs are at the trailhead… but that’s not the trail I took – whew!

Here’s the nice shady gently sloping trail:

a mud-colored lizard

LPFs (aka little purple flowers)

the dreaded poison oak, lurking just off the trail near the creek (as usual)

at the turnaround spot, looking south

and looking north

Finally, a short respite with bird sounds, from the beginning of my escape:

Actions

Information

One response

7 04 2011
HiddenCaches

Stunning photos. I always forget how beautiful the Santa Monica Mountains are. I wish I could move there! Love the pic of the mud lizard btw ^_^

Leave a Reply

