The Calendar Challenge and the Chatsworth Hills

18 03 2011

When I first noticed this cache –
Geocaching 365 Day Challenge
I figured that with over 24,000 finds at the time, and having cached for over 8 years, I would easily have qualified. To my surprise, I was missing three days!

I marked the open dates on my 2011 calendar and determined to make sure I got them all done. Otherwise this cache would haunt me, nay… TAUNT me for another year. I would be nagged every time I took a trip to Chatsworth or Simi Valley: “Here I am, and you can’t find me… hahahahaa….”

Mission accomplished earlier this month to fill the grid:

and I headed out for a much needed outdoor recess to claim it. I also found two nearby caches on that perfect spring day, each taking me to favorite views of the San Fernando Valley and the rocky hills of the Santa Susanna Pass.

Simi and Chatsworth Hills – this earthcache is located at one of my favorite easy-access view points

Santa Susanna Pass – a .20 mile stroll down an old road through the hills

view from the 365 Day Challenge

looking eastward from the earthcache

some of the many big rocks strewn around the hills

overlooking Santa Susanna Pass just to the south of my position

the inviting trail to the third cache of the day

Daylight Savings Time and beautiful spring weather are the perfect recipe for hiking! More to come soon….

Actions

Information

One response

19 03 2011
benh57

Congrats! I’m almost done with mine as well.

btw, There are a few other versions of the 365/366 challenge too, one near Big Sur, and another on Signal Hill, when you are in those areas.

Leave a Reply

