Out and About with OLdweeb

17 12 2009

First, I have some cool news: GeoCraig and I are featured in an article in this month’s issue of 805 Living, which can be found at most major supermarkets in Southern California, including Gelson’s, Vons, Ralphs, Albertsons, and Pavilions, as well as Blockbuster Video and at many high-end retail locations throughout Western Los Angeles, Ventura, and Santa Barbara. 805 Living is also available through subscription. I should be able to get permission to reprint the article here soon!

OK, so I went out for a short day of caching with Ken, aka OLdweeb (On Line Dweeb). He refers to himself as the low energy cacher from outer space, akin to Quisp cereal. We basically cleaned up about 20 around the San Fernando Valley that one or the other or both of us needed. The centerpiece of the list was one honoring Bwidget’s 5000th find!
The Widger 5000

It was a glorious day, as days are here right after it rains:

Of course, Ken did his standard “my GPS is a cel phone” trick while I signed the log, if any muggle was visible within 500 feet:

See his blog for his various entertaining rants, but Ken confessed to be rantless that day. Hm. A rantless OLdweeb. I’ll bet that if he reads this post here on the WordPress website, he’ll have something to rant about. Hee hee…

C’mon, Ken… dare ya to click over!

😉

… or better yet, maybe he’ll tell us of when – back when he was kid – he saw a baby chimp running loose on the streets of Sylmar…

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 12 2009
ErikaJean

Looks a little muddy in that second picture. But It’s geocaching so I’m sure you had fun anyway 😉 nice pics.

18 12 2009
Thudpucker

I have a rant. I don’t want to see pictures of work when I read a blog. (See first pic) Fortunately the building I work at cannot be seen but I know its there. At least I have a building I work at.

Ken saw that baby chimp too? I thought I was the only one.

21 12 2009
oldweeb

Wha? A blog about caching with me? Elin must’ve been really short on material. [:P] I’ll try to add some details. Pic 1: right hand building – I worked in there for 17 years! Pic 2: Those are Elin’s tracks. Pic 5: When Elin grabs a noisy urban cache I talk into my GPSr to disassociate myself from her. Me? “No officer, I have no idea who she is or what she’s doing I’m calling to get a ride back to my seminary.” And Sylmar? I pointed out the location while we were driving through Arleta, on Canterbury. 30 years ago a local near Beachy & Bracken often kept a small chimp chained to a tree in his FRONT yard. You can guess what eventually happened. Happy caching!!

21 12 2009
EMC of Northridge, CA

What? No rant about the snow on my blog, Ken? 😛

23 12 2009
Martina

Dear,
I want to wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
Hope you will find much more caches than this year. although I guess thats not to top anyway, lol

Greetings from Germany
Martina

P.S. Site-Snow is nice

Leave a Reply

