Viva Las Vegas!

17 09 2009

There’s a lot NOT to like about Las Vegas, and I won’t list all that here. The trick to enjoying this burg, at least for me though, is to find those things that are not what the typical visitor encounters. This makes geocaching in and around Sin City irresistible. I know I’ll find something unusual somewhere at a cache, and the sheer numbers of caches all around are available for every level of ability and interest.

I’m spending the week here for three reasons: first to get to 19,999 finds so that my #20,000 is at a special Event Cache, Murder Among The Mateys – A Murder Mystery Event, this weekend, and second, to visit and dine with one of my best friends, a self-proclaimed bon vivant, Bob, and his buddy, Rex. He certainly taught me everything I know about wine, and for him to pick the restaurants for dinners is the best way to find culinary nirvana.

The third reason is to do some research and photography for what I call Season 2 of my Twitter novel, The Adventure of Helen and Daniel. I should be starting that up in a couple of weeks, and to read it, you can follow me on Twitter, or read whole chapters after they are “broadcast” – please contact me for links for that.

I’ve opted to do most of my caching out of the city, away from muggles…
Population 57
pop57

and in the scenery of the surrounding desert…
desertvista

and mountains….

… where everything is about the smiley:
S18

Most caches are typical desert hides:
cacheinrocks

… but this one was worth the drive up the mountain road to find!
GRIDLOCK!
gridlock

Only in Vegas can you REALLY go from the sublime to the ridiculous:

I even got both at once, when I spent a ridiculous amount of $$$ to try the most incredibly sublime Kobe beef from Japan. Wow. It’s hard to describe, but the flavor was not beefy as we know it. It was mild and…. creamy… and marvelous.

Until next week, may you enjoy ridiculously sublime caches!

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 09 2009
Lisa

I love the frog! I have a stuffed frog that sings that same song, LOL.

17 09 2009
Lisa

P.S. The murder mystery sounds like it will be a blast!

18 09 2009
not tom

You go girl!

19 09 2009
Thudpucker

Eat American : )

20 09 2009
RFO aka N6UZS

After 20k finds what are your “highlights?” We all love stats so please post some.

Leave a Reply

