Arizona Geocaching: Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon!

19 02 2009

Flagstaff

I sang a concert there with Sixth Wave last weekend, for 1000 excited high school kids at a choral festival. It doesn’t get much better than that!

On the way, I found this handful, along Route 40:
S & S Desert Cache
Indian Lookout
French Connection
take a break !

The third cache on that list is at the infamous Bagdad Cafe, where I had to peer into an old trailer to get information to tell me where to find the ammo can.

bagdadcafe
The proprietress LOVES visitors, and insisted on taking my photo behind the counter.

cafecounter

I could see snow on the mountains as I drove toward Kingman:

It had recently snowed in Flagstaff, too, and this was the view from my hotel balcony:
hotelview

The next day, I had lunch with an old acquaintance from college marching band. We hadn’t seen each other for at least 30 years, but had stayed in touch and reconnected on Facebook. Turns out he’s also a geocacher, aka Eldon Viewer, with about 50 finds! We found one downtown after having great Mexican food:

Soap Box Derby

The day after the show, I took one of our group to the airport to pick up a rental car. Icicles were in abundance all over town, but these hanging off the terminal roof were particularly spectacular:
ravenicicles
That’s a giant raven on the trash can, and it talked to me while I photographed. It did NOT quote E.A. Poe.

On the way back to the freeway, I waded through knee-deep snow to get this one:
Flagstaff, Arizona

After that, I headed out of town to the next stop: The Grand Canyon!
No photograph can do it justice – it’s just too large and complex.

I hit a TB hotel on the way, and did four virtuals in the park:
Grand Canyon Bug Cacher
Grand Canyon Explorers
Peace on the Rim
Abyss Disk
Trail’s End Rest

I did get a few photos, and hope they give some sense of the beauty, if not the incredible scope of the area:
canyonacross

canyondown

meriver

canyonsky

canyoncolor

canyonriver

hermitsrest

Perfect snow shapes:
snowpicnic

snowparking

Some train shots for my Dad – this was in the station at Grand Canyon Village – I love the bell sounding in the video!
trainguys

train2

I grabbed a few on the road trip home, including a couple in historic Williams, AZ on Route 66:
williams661

KH – Goldie’s Route 66 Diner
Eight Cribs
Seligman Highway Haven
A Fort Rock on Route 66
Audley
Needles and Pins
National Treasure
The Power of Caffeine

And with that… I was back in So Cal! Until next week… cacheee onnn….

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 02 2009
Martina

As every time you give me much sense of the beauty.
Grate picts as well 🙂

Great tour you have done. And funny about your acquaintance is a GeoCacher too. Lol

Cu soon Martina

22 02 2009
oldweeb

Ha!! My giant seagull is more giant than your giant raven!!

14 03 2009
Ventura Kid

Grand Canyon?!! We love that place.
Thanks for the great pics.
They give a sense of how awesome the views are.

1 05 2009
Quesadilla Recipe

I’m planing on going to the Grand Canyon next August, no snow but hope to enjoy the beautiful scenaries.

Leave a Reply

