Ferry + Tunnels + Apes + HQ = Seattle! (part 2)

30 10 2008

Another reason I went to Seattle was to reconnect with my eldest cousin. We couldn’t remember the last time we’d seen each other, but it had probably been 30 or 40 years! He looks like both his mom and his dad, and it somehow being with him felt like being with them, too. He and his wife live on a farm out on San Juan Island, where they raise kiwis, apples, asian pears, filberts, lambs and gourmet grass to feed them. I got a long tour of their whole operation and of the island, which has a curious history involving a dispute between the American army and the English army over a pig. The resolution of that dispute led to the border we have with Canada today.

I found one cache on the island with my cousin. It’s right near where I disembarked the ferry:
Ferry Godmother – Annie’s Corsets

I also picked up two near the ferry dock at the other end:
Ship Harbor Earthcache

Ferry Godmother – Saturday Cove

The ferry rides were great fun and superbly scenic.

I just couldn’t resist getting this shot:

The music of the waves on the pebbles is something I don’t hear in Southern California, which only has sandy beaches:

For all of my newer readers, a reminder to check out my monthly newsletter on my career as a professional singer: Elin Carlson.

Until next week…. cache on!

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 10 2008
Erin M

San Juan Islands! That brings back some memories. I have spent many wonderful vacations there, but not for many, many years. Your cousin is a fortunate individual to make a living on the islands. Your photos were great, I’d love to see more. – ErSamin

30 10 2008
Elin Carlson

That’s about all the photos I took… but here’s one he sent me of the farm:
farmview

5 11 2008
MyGeocacheNation

and you’re a singer too? wow!

those sights are great! I hope you have the time to check out my geocaching site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

