Road Trip!

21 08 2008

I recently took an amazing rafting trip down the Green River in Utah. Most of the group of 25 flew in to Salt Lake City, but my philosophy, of course, is “why fly when you can drive and geocache”!

I took two days to get there and one to get back. I couldn’t resist stopping for a Wheeler Dealers cache, especially one placed at this classic 50s diner in the middle of nowhere:

Peggy Sue’s Diner

The food is pretty good there, too. My next stop was a cluster of caches in Primm:
Ivanpah Dry Lake Earthcache
Just over the fence
Out in the corner
Shopping in Nevada!

Here I am at the Earthcache. I put the camera on the roof of my car to get the shot:

One of the big highlights was halfway there, in St. George. There is an outstanding museum featuring local preserved dinosaur tracks, and I found the Earthcache there:

Dinosaur Tracks in St. George Earthcache
This is one of the most amazing exhibits I’ve ever seen, and I highly recommend a visit!

One the second day of the trip there, I grabbed a nice string of caches near the I-15/I-70 junction:

Sulpherdale TB Terminal stopped and swapped
Guarding Tess another ammo can
Decon in the Corner Pocket as advertised
The Cove Fort-Sulphurdale Geothermal Field unusual power source here
Cattle Guarding the Cache guess what this cache is one?
Baltimore 2200 the west end of the interstate that goes all the way to Baltimore
old cove fort I found this one easily this time after DNFing it in the snow last winter

This next cache afforded me a spectacular view of the town of Green River, UT, my destination, and what lay ahead:

Spotted Wolf Canyon

The first day of the group tour, we went to Arches National Park. I was the only geocacher there, but I still managed to bag 5 caches, all virtuals and earthcaches, as we cruised around in the bus. It’s one spectacular scenery overload:

Arches National Park- The Arches
The Windows Section: Arches National Park
Balanced Rock: Arches National Park
Arches National Park- Balanced Rock
Delicate Arch

Landscape Arch:

Delicate Arch:

Video Panorama:

That afternoon, I found a handful of caches in Moab:

Mill Creek Bridge
Parkway Cache (kinda) nanotized
Scout House Cashew
Cross Creeks Trail

a classic motel in Moab:

some local artwork:

a charming and mysterious creekside path:

The following day, we flew from Moab to a dirt air strip up the Green River where we put in for 5 days of rafting and kayaking, following part of the journey that John Wesley Powell took when he first explored the area. My next post will feature information and photos from the rafting part of my week, but now – back to the geocaches!

There is a cache at the landing strip!

Desolation Canyon Airport

It’s at the trail head down from the airstrip on the mesa.

After our incredible week on the river, we returned to Salt Lake City for a farewell dinner, and I made a mad dash home in one day to get back for some work.

Brown River the cache by our hotel in Green River – it has a nice cache guardian

I introduced a tour member to geocaching in SLC. He’s now babj615 in Seattle. Heh. The infection spreads:
Say Your Name, Dear Jane
SLC Degrees of Confluence #45 8S8W
Classic Cars

I grabbed these easy ones on the drive home:
Dillen’s Pit Stop
Magnum’s Manderfield Multi Microcache (#7)
20 to 89
South Rim of the Great Basin
Hog Heaven
Pit Stop
STOP… it’s a Dead End
Run Down Station
Ready For Action Figures
TIP TOE CACHE 1Drive Thru Meds

It took FIFTEEN hours to drive from SLC to LA, rather than the 12 I was expecting… there was a ton of weekend traffic… but the geocaching along the way kept me sane and awake!

Since I’ve been back, I’ve had time for one geocache in Hollywood, at a small group of cottages built by Charlie Chaplin with a rich history of famous residents:
The Tramp Camp

Next: the Big Bear Cache Bash weekend

Actions

Information

One response

21 08 2008
tonkaboy

We have many wonderful memories of Arches NP. Took the kids there when they were just little tykes – including hick@heart! You must have done some hiking to get to Landscape and Delicate arch. Our hiking was all pretty close to the campground.

Utah is a fantastic place to vacation. Some of the most beautiful scenery in the world.

Thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories.

Leave a Reply

