The Road to Mt. Shasta…. continues with Sawmill Mtn.

26 06 2008

My next hike to train for Shasta was past Mt. Pinos and on to Sawmill Mountain. I camped overnight at McGill to acclimate a bit to the elevation so I could walk farther at least little more comfortably. This hike was 8 miles RT, and turned out to be quite a workout. The first leg to Mt. Pinos felt easy, but the next peak involved more elevation loss and gain than I had thought. I really had to descend about 400′, then back up 300′ in a couple of miles. The views up there are just as nice, though.

Sawmill Mountian (sic)

This is the last of the snow!

I noticed this odd plant, which appears to be fungal. The color is really brilliant, though:

I made it! I ran in to one other person today, just in time for him to take my picture.


Summit Log

After bagging this peak, I went on to find a cache further on and back down a hill. This meant my return trip was up, down, up and across! I was SO tired after that… and my feet were really hurting. (sigh) I’ll need to break in the boots more…

So, that last cache was also an Altoids tin in a rock outcropping! I despaired of finding it, but decided to get really determined, and did after some searching. I had forgotten to bring the spoiler photo! At least I was successful… whew!

Sheepish Grouse

Actions

Information

One response

21 08 2009
ktquilt

Hi, I was just reading you entries about caching around Mt. Shasta from last year. Did you ever get an identification for the red flower? If not, it is commonly called Snow Plant. Not really a fungus it does grow on decaying plant material. For me it is always a treat to find one, it reminds me of camping in the High Sierras when I was young. Happy caching.

Leave a Reply

