Geocaching Lessons with the Ventura Kids

7 06 2008

It’s always exciting to find 100 caches in a day, and my two days with the Ventura Kids and Zombie Tribe over the weekend at Geowoodstock were no exception, finding 100 one day and 75 the next!

The Ventura Kids like to say that they are bringing me along to teach me to geocache. They ARE the inventors of the “7-minute Rule”, after all. Here’s what I learned this time:

Zombie Tribe, aka Robert, searches while Ventura Kid Steve supervises. This is a good use of resources:

Meanwhile, the other Ventura Kid, Sandy, finds the cache on the other side of the street. This is teamwork:

Sandy opens the log while everyone else has stickers at the ready. This is efficiency:

Note: if Sandy is not there on any given day, we all stand around and wonder who’s supposed to open the container. Hm.

This is some nice scenery near a cache, but there’s no time for that! As I took this photo, they were all in the jeep and pulling away. I had to run to catch up! It was just a 10th of a mile to the next cache anyway, so I made it. Whew!

We have to find 10 caches per hour or we don’t get lunch. Fortunately, we did this day, and enjoyed some great burgers at this local joint in Wheatland:

Uh oh… I think Steve’s DNFing this one… where is it??

OK, I’m pulling your leg with some of the above descriptions, but I’ll let you guess which. Above all, a day of caching with the Ventura Kids is a day of complete fun. It’s a day full of laughter, looniness, and signing lots of logbooks. It’s an experience I highly recommend!

(Just don’t believe anything Steve says!) 😉

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 06 2008
jrog101

I’ve actually considered requesting passage on one of these extreme numbers trips, just to see how it’s done. It sounds like there may be a few trade secrets that the team might want to keep and protect as intellectual property.

Geocaching With Team Hick@Heart

9 03 2009
Christine Tobin

HI There,
I am looking for a geo-caching instuctor for a group of 11-17 year olds for
March 21st in Thousand Oaks. Any help is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

