Geocaching all over the place

3 04 2008

This week, I found caches in Orange County, Palm Springs, San Diego, and locally in Griffith Park, from a 5-mile hike to a 60-cache run of urbans. The variety in this sport/obsession/hobby is one of its most compelling aspects for me.

The 60-cache day was in Buena Park with f0t0m0m and OLdweeb. Most of them were quite standard, but that’s what makes a good numbers day. We did find a cache in the front yard of a local who came out to greet us, and he REALLY looks like Santa Claus. We’d place bets on it that he really is.
Portable Garden
We also visited a large Vietnam War Memorial. I’m thankful every day for the men and women who serve our country and for those who sacrificed every thing so we can work and play (!) in peace.
Vietnam War Memorial
One of a series that happens to be one of my favorites was on the list. This series has perfectly matched micros to various colors of water mains in public parking lots.
Green Alert #8
f0t0m0m’s skill as a “fisherman” was put to good use in the corner of a park.
Fishing In The Park
We even made a quick trip to Ferenginar on the way home!
Gateway to Ferenginar

I did get two photos of a gorgeous blooming tree. It was in the parking lot for a cache on an old bell.
Ring My Bell
tree.jpg
flower.jpg

The next day, I followed an infamous purple jeep around in my white Prius.
Cache Machine
cars.jpg

1/2 of the VKs, f0t0m0m, and I cached around the Lakewood area, then attended a lunch event. Out favorites of the day were a marvelously unique news stand hide,
Lil Duckling
a LARGE cache attached to a telephone pole,
“IT”
an ammo can hanging in down a street drain,
hang of the bang
and a cache at a really cool viney-looking branch of a tree winding among the vines on a wall.
Snake Branch

After the event, I headed down toward San Diego to have dinner with a few friends. On the way, I picked up four:
2 White Posts
BOOKS, LETTERS & PACKAGES – I returned to find the 3rd waypoint of a multi I had DNFd before
Cryptic Cat
Alley Cat

On Sunday, I joined a merry band of geocachers to find a new series of caches in the Griffith Park area. I had to leave before finding the final cache, so I returned on Wednesday for that one.
TT&BB’s FINAL Griffith Park Cache PUZZLE

Some great photos of our adventure are posted here by foon:
Click here for the photos

Monday I went to Palm Springs with three other cachers who are also a video crew. We interviewed the Wheeler Dealers, learned about camouflage techniques, and visited some of their most entertaining hides.
Dinah-mighty
In Vogue
We DARE them!
SnowBirds, Welcome Back!
We’ll be releasing the video at the end of May, and we hope it generates enough interest (and sales) to be the first of a series on the Master of Geocaching.

I wrapped up my week in Griffith Park, with these two after the one mentioned above, followed by a very tricky urban micro in Glendale.
Out of the Way Picnic Day – hidden picnic tables at the top of a hill!
Old Zoo View
This Just In

Whew! Until next week, happy caching!

Actions

Information

One response

3 04 2008
jrog101

Wow, that’s quite the adventure. I just got a Prius myself. I think I’d rather have the jeep. But I can’t afford to put gas in that. Good times!

Geocaching With Team Hick@Heart

Leave a Reply

