Square Dancing and Geocaching

21 02 2008

Last weekend, I got to combine my two hobbies: square dancing and geocaching. I went to a 2-day square dancing event in Solvang, and still had time for over 2 dozen caches on the way and between workshops. Solvang, Buellton, and Santa Ynez are in extraordinarily beautiful areas, so although the caches were mostly not out of the ordinary, the scenery certainly was.

The highlight of the weekend was a quick trip to Nojoqui Falls and the Earthcache there, which explained the unusual feature of the falls. The rock behind it is actually growing from the mineral deposits in the water, more than it’s being eroded. This give the falls a unique structure. I discovered it before geocaching, and have been looking forward to getting back to watch it again. There’s something transfixing about waterfalls, and this one is really tall, mossy, and hypnotizing.

This link will take you to more information and photos: Nojoqui Falls,
as will the Earthcache page below.

Other highlights included an emu farm, a fairytale “prince”, a winery under construction, a little mermaid, a creepy adobe, and historic mission grounds.

Gaviota “Hot Spring”
Las Cruces Adobe Stage Stop
Easy find
Nojoqui Falls – Advancing Falls

Flag View
No Clydesdales Here
Ranch & Country
Park and View 2
Industrial Revolution
Oak Park
Riverview Park
“E”mu Empery Redux
Little Mermaid
Bus Stop
Theater View
Splashing the bling
The SY coin Hotel
The Mystical Body of Christ
“F” is for Fairy Tale
“E” is for Enchanted
Lions in Solvang
The Lunch Break
Play View
El Rancho
Park and View
Santa Ynez View
John Deere
A Great Park

Earlier in the week, I went to the Elysian Park and Echo Park areas with f0t0m0m. The best part of that day was seeing the large collection of Victorian houses at the “Painted Ladies” cache. We drove around and admired them for several minutes. Here’s one of the photos from GeoCraig’s cache page:
victorian.jpg

What color is the little brown jug?
Glendale’s Oldest Streets – Glendale Avenue
Forest Lawn’s Funicular
By George, What a view!
Dream Center
Echo Park . . . Echo Park
Los Angeles’ Painted Ladies
EASTSIDE
Montecillo de Leo Politi
Elysian Park TB Motel
Nature, Meet Civilization
Dorris is waiting for the bus!
There’s Something About Shakespeare…

I got out for a wonderful hike on Monday, up Weldon Canyon. Four caches and six miles later, I was tired, yet refreshed back at my car. The views were extensive and varied as I walked up, then along the ridge from I-5, past a busy local landfill, and west away from civilization and toward Mission Peak. At my turnaround point at the trail junction from East Canyon, one can see north into the Santa Clarita Valley and south into the San Fernando Valley. It was a glorious day for it, too. I neglected to bring my camera, but I did get these two shots with my cel phone:

trailview.jpg
From whence I came…

deadgate.jpg
Dead gate….

Where’s Ursula the Bear?
You Are My Sunshine
Well Done Cache
Got a Match?

Finally, yesterday I got out to the historic Ridge Route with f0t0m0m. It was chilly and sprinkly, with just enough sun and visibility to make the scenery stand out. The hills are emerald green now, and there was even a seasonal waterfall at one of the caches. This was my third time along the Ridge Route, and it’s one of my favorite local getaways.

Ridge Route – Power Benchmarking II
Snakeskin
Blockhead
Ridge Route – Canyon View
Head’s Up 7UP “Beware of the Crazy Lady”
Paradise South
The I-5 / Templin Hwy Travel Bug Hotel (I stop here pretty much every time I pass the nearby freeway exit to swap TBs and coins.)
Dopey (One of the Seven Dwarfs)
Aqua DuckDuck
Don’t Get Too Close!!!
Kid’s BIG Bucket Cache!!
Quail Crossing
Quail Lake
Old Ridge Route – Old Homestead
Old Ridge Route – Can You Hear Me Now?Old Ridge Route – Backroad, Benchmark & Water
Nauseating Twists and Turns
Whispering Pine
Old Ridge Route – Sandberg Inn
In the Meadow
South of Sandberg
Old Ridge Route – Backroad, Benchmark & Boulder
Old Ridge Route – Horseshoe Bend
Old Ridge Route – Breezy Pine
Old Ridge Route – Rex Farmer
Ridge Route Panorama
Old Ridge Route – Backroad, Benchmark & Boulder II
Old Tumble Inn
Gobble Gobble – Turkey Day Cache
Doc (One of the Seven Dwarfs)
Hi Karate!
Bridge, Benchmark & Freeway
Porky’s Corner

I didn’t get any photos myself, but about a month ago, Team Perks came up here after they’d absconded with the SGC trophy travel bug. Since they “borrowed” it from me while taking car of my cats when I was out of town, I “borrowed” this photo that they took of it to share here.
trophy.jpg

They took a photo of it at every cache they visited that day (which included all of them on our Ridge Route list), from artistic to goofy to, er, head-scratching, so it’s worth checking out the travel bug page to see ’em all!

SCG Trophy

What a great week of geocaching!

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 02 2008
tonkaboy

Jeepers! When do you get the time to sing?

4 03 2008
softball29

Holy cow, what a combination! I’ve never really square danced, but it’s entertaining to watch! 😉

Leave a Reply

