More or less a typical caching week…

17 01 2008

Welcome back to this, my second installment in this new adventure of The Blog. First, I’d like to show you my new pin, awarded for platinum earthcache masters: finding 20 in 5 states and hiding 3.

Platinum pin

Whee!
Actually, I do enjoy earthcaches, as I always enjoy learning something new.

This week I got more caches in than last week. On Saturday, I went to Pasadena and Sierra Madre with 2 of my “usual suspects”: f0t0m0m and OLdweeb. We did a minimal amount of hiking and a couple dozen urbans. The highlight of the day was finding two caches that involved contacting a cacher in VA for alternate waypoints. Our partner there in Alexandria was Team Weathergirl.

Altadena:
Robots In Disguise!
Christmas Tree Lane
Birthday/Christmas/Memorial Cache
Balian House

Eaton Canyon “hiking”:
Kids’ Canyon Cache
Eaton Wood-A high Fiber Diet
Higher and Drier

Sierra Madre:
CURSED – The Bradys go to Hawaii
I Never “Promised” Max a Pansy Patch!
The Asylum
Winding Your Way Through It (or Not…)
Fred C. Dobbs Memorial Treasure Cache of S M
Easy Cache
Geo-Vaquero

-LUNCH- at a Mongolian BBQ place

With A Little Help From A Friend – in California to get the final for our VA cacher, Team Weathergirl
“Heckle & Jeckle”
TEAM GEO-RANGERS MAGNETIC MICRO
“Q.T.Hush”
With A Little Help From A Friend – in Virginia
Pasadena:
ROCK ON
MATTERSVILLE – inside a Goth shop!
AT THE ORCHARD
BETWEEN HANDY CAP IS YOUR TARGET
PASADENA HIDE
VINA VIEJA PARK – DNF!
Alice’s Rear End
Bicycles and Bunnies – DNF!
EVOLUTION
ZUMAR!
Across the Tops!
07/07/07
Sizzlin Hot – DNF!
Pasadena Gold
Greene Portals to the Past
Did I Hear You Say That There Must Be A Cache?
Bud Gardens
House

On Sunday, I went caching around Eagle Rock after singing a funeral in the area, and found five quick hide-a-keys while wearing a dress and heels!
Guarding the Canyon
Library Parking
Emerald Isle Park
Sports Park Overlook
Play Ball!

My week was capped off with a few in the San Fernando Valley today as I was running errands.
Dentale Sorge
Trou d’un coup
Mister Ed
nuTone – nuContainer

I also replaced a missing cache:
Doubly Dead
AND submitted a new Earthcache – a One Stop Geology Stop in Elsmere Canyon. (It’s awaiting approval.)

I think the piéce de resistance of my week, though, was hiding Le cache est mort! Vive le cache! How much should I give away? Let’s just say, it’s fitting memorial for the THREE caches I had there previously in a tree that’s no longer there!

One more tidbit: I found this while looking for other blogs and such on geocaching. It looks like a really nice collection of geophotos.
Flickr group for geocaching

Do you have a favorite blog or geocaching site? Please comment and let me know.
Until next week! Cache on!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

