Empty Circle

19 04 2012

Empty Circle 5.0 Challenge

I was inspired by GeoCraig’s post on his completion of this challenge to take a look. A couple of years ago, I had an 8 mile radius cleared out and only 20 caches left in my 10 mile radius! Now… er… I have over 100 unfound in my 5 mile circle…

I live smack dab in the center of the San Fernando Valley, which is both an advantage and disadvantage compared to where GeoCraig is centered. The advantage is that I won’t encounter any extreme terrain. The disadvantage is that there’s a much higher probability that new caches will pop up while I’m in the process of getting them all found, so I’m chasing more of a moving target.

Game on!

I started out with my fun, yet admittedly feeble, effort today, by taking a drive down to the Balboa Park area for SEVEN finds. That means I’m down to 111 (until Albackore or OLdweeb or the Ventura Kids or f0t0m0m or Team Perks or some such decide to hide a massive spew of urbans to taunt me).

For the first four, I actually got out of the car and walked around the Hjelte Sports Center, which is mostly baseball fields and a handy restroom.
Twilight – Edward
Twilight – Team Edward or Team Jacob?
Twilight – Jacob
Twilight – Bella

Looking from one cache to the next:

The food they grow in the neighboring field is sold at the farmer’s market over on Hayvenhurst:

I’ve never seen a gate with a ladder:

This is the flood control dam for the Los Angeles River. I recall seeing parts of the Valley under water as I watched CNN International when I was living in Vienna around 1991.

Looking back at my car from the other side of the park:

The last three were quick park and grabs along Woodley Avenue on the edge of the Balboa Park Bird Sanctuary and near the golf course.
Jeff rocks! That he does – kudos again on his epic SFV Scavenger Event!
OH NO…Not another LP skirt This hide was really funny. I took a photo, but don’t want to spoil it.
Dog-Fish Chapstick

The wildlife area:

Actual wildlife:

The golf course:

This was an unusually good day for me, as I had zero DNFs and needed zero lifelines. Onward!

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 04 2012
Jim Carleton

As the evil Duke said in “The Thirteen Clocks,” by James Thurber, “I wish you every strangest kind of luck.” I think you are going to need it.

The best thing about a Challenge cache of this sort is that it is easy to ignore, as it is far enough away that I don’t see it taunting me, unlike a few closer to us that we’ll never complete. It has nothing to do with puzzles and multis and such. As you know well, I love puzzle caches, and we’ve done more than out fair share of multis and LB hybrids, as well. And the comment on the cache page about going past a tough cache to get a bunch of urban spew is hilarious! We would much rather go on a hike for a four or five caches than drive all around city streets for 20 or 30 LPCs.

The problem is that Challenge caches like this are too dependent upon other cachers; to be successful requires that the hiders of all those hundreds of caches within five miles are on top of things. Around here, that just isn’t the case, and I’m not talking only about us! We have several teens who have hidden a bunch of caches, many of which are not maintained, have not been Found in months, but are also not disabled. And I am tired of being the Cache Police. It gets old badgering cache owners, especially when I’m not even close to, say, ghhs72, who shames the rest of us with his rapid response to any reports of problems.

So, again, “Good luck!” I hope you succeed.

19 04 2012
coakford

Good Luck! Glad that I “inspired” you.

Jim is right. Challenge caches like these can be a hassle. I did have a number of “active” caches that I was sure were MIA. I contacted the owners and didn’t hear back from them. The CO of the challenge cache told me just to ignore the active, but missing caches, saying the point is to find all the caches to be found and the missing caches aren’t in that group.

I did have some difficult caches placed during my quest, including 2 5/5 caches. That delayed my completion time. But it was all part of the fun.

10 06 2012
Chuck Corpus

Wow Elin! Thank you for the blog entry on our Twilight Series! BTW, I do have one more planned for the series. The photos were fun additional hints too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

